Committee details

Emergency General Purpose Committee

Purpose of committee

Membership: 3 Members consisting of the Leader of the Council, Deputy Leader of the Council and Leader of the Opposition with named substitutes of any Executive Member, any Member of the majority party group and any Member of the opposition respectively



In the event of a level 2 or 3 contingency being declared by the Chief Executive or Monitoring Officer or, in their absence, their appointed deputies, the Emergency General Purpose Committee shall make any decision within the power of Cherwell District Council or its committees that are not part of the Executive functions or reserved in the legislation to full Council.

Contact information

Support officer: Natasha Clark, Democratic and Elections. Email:, 01295 221534

Postal address:
Bodicote House
OX15 4AA